Visitor:
Philosophy of AR > Animal Testing - Index
Primate research ethics resolution hearing

http://monkeysindane.info/update.html

Please forward:

Update on Dane County, Wisconsin, Resolution 35

The Health and Human Needs Committee of the Dane County Board of Supervisors will take up our resolution on Tuesday, June 29th.

The meeting will be held in the City County Building at 215 Martin Luther King Drive, in Madison. The meeting time has not been published yet, but will probably be between 5:00 p.m. and 6:00 p.m. Members of the public can each speak for three minutes.

Please make every effort to attend this meeting, show your support for the resolution, and speak in favor of it. This is a critically important meeting.

If passed, this landmark resolution will focus public attention and discussion on the experiments here in the Monkey Experimentation Capital of the World.

If you cannot attend the meeting, consider making a polite phone call or sending a very polite email to the committee members. Thank the cosponsors and ask the others to support the resolution.

The county supervisors who are co-sponsoring the resolution deserve much praise for their integrity and moral courage.

Members of the Health and Human Needs Committee

Shelia Stubbs, chair (co-sponsor)
608/223-1684 stubbs@co.dane.wi.us

Jeremy Levin, vice-chair (opposed, says the research and benefits are important)
(608) 577-9335 levin.jeremy@co.dane.wi.us

Barbara Vedder (co-sponsor)
(608) 249-8428 vedder.barbara@co.dane.wi.us

Denise Duranczyk (sympathetic)
(608) 873-8302 duranczyk@co.dane.wi.us

Mike Willett (strongly opposed on grounds of jurisdiction)
(608) 845-8503 willett@co.dane.wi.us

Ronn Ferrell (seems sympathetic, but did not sign on)
(608) 695-1321 ronnferrell15@charter.net

Melissa Sargent (co-sponsor)
cell (608) 220-2273 sargent@co.dane.wi.us

Thanks in advance.

The resolution to create a Citizens' Advisory Panel was introduced and cosponsored by thirteen Dane County Board of Supervisors. Dane County Resolution 35, as it is now known, was referred to the Executive Committee (yet to be scheduled) and the Health and Human Needs Committee for deliberation. You can read the draft resolution here:
http://monkeysindane.info/Resolution_5-20-10.pdf

Fair Use Notice and Disclaimer
Send questions or comments about this web site to Ann Berlin, annxtberlin@gmail.com