Number of animals used for fur world-wide
Number of animals used in one fur coat
Species trapped for fur
Species farmed for fur
Countries that have banned the leghold trap

Number of animals used for fur world-wide

Farmed world-wide 27,790,000
Farmed Mink 24,100,000
Farmed Fox 3,400,000
Farmed Polecat 100,000
Farmed Raccoon Dog 90,000
Other: Chinchilla, Coypu, Sable, Lynx etc. 100,000 (est.)

Trapped world-wide 8,559,303
Trapped US 2,500,000
Trapped Canada 1,059,303
Trapped Russia 4,000,000
Trapped elsewhere 1,000,000 (est.)

Number of animals used in one fur coat

Calf 6-8
Puma 6-8
Foal 6-8
Seal 6-10
Lynx 8-12
Badger 10-12
Otter 10-16
Fox 10-20
Ocelot 12-18
Dog 15-20
Bobcat 16-22
Kangaroo 20-30
Domestic cat 20-30
Lamb 25-45
Coypu (Nutria) 26-34
Raccoon 30-40
Mink 30-70
Rabbit 30-40
Polecat 45-55
Marten 50-60
Sable 60-70
Skunk 60-70
Chinchilla 30-200
Squirrel 200-400

Source: Rauchwarenhandbuch, Germany

Species trapped for fur

Arctic Fox, Badger, Beaver, Black Bear, Bobcat, Chinchilla, Coyote, Coypu (Nutria), Gray Fox, Red Fox, Kit & Swift Fox, Silver Fox, Lynx, Fisher (Marten), Marmot, Mink, Muskrat, Otter, Ocelot, Opossum, Polecat, Rabbit, Raccoon, Raccoon Dog, Ring tail cat, Sable (Kolinsky), Striped Skunk, Spotted Skunk, Long-tailed Weasel, Short-tailed Weasel (Ermine), Squirrel, Wolf, Timber Wolf, Wolverine

Species farmed for fur

Mink, Fox, Raccoon dog, Polecat, Coypu, Chichilla

Countries that have banned the leghold trap

69: Austria, Bahrain, Bangladesh, Belgium, Belize, Benin, British West Indies, Burkina Faso, Burundi, Cameroon, Cayman Islands, Chile, Colombia, Costa Rica, Cuba, Cyprus, Denmark, Dominican Republic, Finland, France, Gabon, Gambia, Germany, Ghana, Greece, Guinea, Guyana, Hungary, India, Ireland, Italy, Ivory Coast, Jamaica, Jordan, Kenya, Liberia, Liechtenstein, Luxembourg, Malawi, Malaysia, Maldives, Morocco, Mozambique, Netherlands, Nicaragua, Niger, Nigeria, Norway, Panama, Portugal, Senegal, Seychelles, Singapore, Spain, Sri Lanka, Swaziland, Sweden, Switzerland, Tanzania, Thailand, Togo, Trinidad and Tobago, Tunisia, Uganda, United Arab Emirates, United Kingdom, Zaire, Zambia, Zimbabwe.

19 Countries have banned all traps, including the leghold trap: Burundi, Equatorial Guinea, Gabon, Gambia, Ghana, Ivory Coast, Kenya, Liberia, Mali, Mauritania, Morocco, Zimbabwe, Senegal, Swaziland, Tanzania, Togo, Tunisia, Uganda, Burkina Faso

Source: Facts About Furs, EU Council Regulation No. 3254/91

Fair Use Notice and Disclaimer
Send questions or comments about this web site to Ann Berlin,